Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union Awarded Two Honours at City of Mount Pearl Ceremony

MOUNT PEARL, NL – The 2015 Pearl Awards for Urban Design and Gardens ceremony was hosted in Council Chambers at City Hall in Mount Pearl on Tuesday, November 3, 2015.

The Honourable Steve Kent, Deputy Premier, Minister of Health and Community Services, Minister Responsible for the Office of Public Engagement, and MHA for Mount Pearl North, Mayor Randy Simms and other members of Council participated in the awards ceremony

Overall, three awards and four honourable mentions were presented by Council. Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union was nominated in two categories and won for both. The Urban Design Award recognizes excellence in urban design that enhances the quality of life and aesthetics in the City of Mount Pearl through architectural and landscape architectural design.

The Green Lens Award celebrates property and business owners who implement green initiatives and innovative sustainable design solutions, recognizing developments that advance environmental stewardship with innovative sustainable water, energy, site, and building systems.

Board President, Robert Dicks, proudly accepted these awards on behalf of the directors, employees, and members of Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union.

“It is a true honour to be recognized by the city in which we operate and it is, indeed, a proud achievement that will greatly benefit awareness of our credit union”.
          –  Robert G. Dicks, Board President

Mr. Dicks was joined at the ceremony by Board Vice-President, Robert Pike; Director & Chair of the Building Committee, Gail Tucker; General Manager Michelle Ward; Managers Peggy Mercer and Brenda Holden; and Project Architect, Jeremy Bryant.


(Left to Right) Peggy Mercer, Manager Lending Services; Brenda Holden, Manager Operations & Compliance; Robert Dicks, Board President; Jeremy Bryant, Project Architect; Michelle Ward, General Manager; Gail Tucker, Director & Chair of the Building Committee; Robert Pike, Board Vice-President

LAT49 Architecture Inc. designed the Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union Building under design architect, Jim Case. The construction was administered by Jeremy Bryant as project architect in partnership with J&T Construction Limited.

Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union, located at 885 Topsail Road, Mount Pearl, is a full-service financial institution serving all residents of Newfoundland and Labrador.  The Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union building was officially opened on October 15, 2015 and 2016 will mark its 60th year in operation.

For more information please visit


Rhonda Goodridge
Marketing & Communications Officer
Reddy Kilowatt Credit Union
Phone:  709-737-2820 or 709-691-3321